Last Update: September 23, 2014

Currently Off-Off-Broadway

Sweet, Sweet Spirit

View All Current Shows

Buy from Amazon, and we benefit:

Whenever you purchase anything from Amazon, start here, and Amazon gives the IT Awards cash!


2014 New York Innovative Theatre Awards Recipients 

The 2014 New York Innovative Theatre Awards were presented on Monday, September 22, 2014 at Baruch College's Mason Hall. The event was hosted by the charming and irreverent Jason Kravits. The 2014 nominees represented 133 individual artists, 59 productions and 56 producing organizations. It was a very exciting and energetic evening filled with community spirit.

read the full story

The Joe Cino Ring 

by Mac Rogers 

Sometimes a colossal honor can fit inside a tiny circle, no wider than a human finger. The Innovative Theatre Foundation (ITF) received one such physics-defying honor this past July 21st, when Martin Denton and Rochelle Denton of the New York Theatre Experience presented core ITF team members Shay Gines, Akia Squitieri, and Nick Micozzi with a ring that once belonged to a man named Joe Cino. Its not so strange if you measure the honor inherent in a ring not by its circumference, but by the hands through which the ring has passed. By this metric, there are few objects in American theater of equal value.

read the full story

Spotlight On: Saviana Stănescu 

by Christopher Borg 

Saviana Stănescu is one of the most prestigious, prolific and honored members of the Off-Off-Broadway theatre community. An award-winning Romanian-American poet, playwright and journalist, Saviana is a member of Ensemble Studio Theatre and has taught at NYUs Tisch School of Arts where she, a Fulbright fellow, received her MA in Performance Studies and an MFA in Dramatic Writing. She is currently the NYSCA playwright-in-residence for Women's Project, writer-in-residence of East Coast Artists, Director of New Drama Program for the Romanian Cultural Institute in New York and teaches script analysis and playwriting at Ithaca College.

read the full story

2014 New York Innovative Theatre Award Nominees 

The 2014 New York Innovative Theatre Award Nominees were announced on Monday, July 21st at 42West Night Club. A distinguished group of artists announced the nominees: Shaun Bennet Fauntleroy, Actor, Playwright, and Producer; Jody Christopherson, Performer, Writer, Founder & Editor-in-Chief of New York Theatre Review; Blake Lawrence Bradford, Event Producer and Fundraising Consultant; Jason Cicci, Artistic Director of Monday Morning Productions; Chis Harcum, Actor, playwright, Executive Director of Elephant Run District and Managing Director of the League of Independent Theater; Sara Thigpen, Actor and Director at Boomerang Theatre Company. The 2014 Nominees represent of 130 individual nominees, 57 producing organizations, and 58 productions.

read the full story

How are they Chosen? The IT Awards Judging Process 

We get asked that a lot. So, we produced a fun 5-minute video to explain how the process works. It features many of the OOB artists we all know and love. We hope it helps answer some of the questions that you might have. Check it out on YouTube. You can also check out the powerpoint presentation of the process.

read the full story

Check Out Our Blog

In our continuous desire to reach out to you and to keep nurturing this community in any way we can - and as a means for YOU to get to know US better, the all-volunteer staff here at the IT Awards invites you to our informal forum. We are excited to share with you our impressions, ideas and reflections on this very active and hugely entertaining Off-Off-Broadway community in a casual and personal way.

Read our blog

Shop Amazon, and Support the IT Awards!

Do you buy books or music (or anything) from Well, we have an easy way for your money go a little further and show your support for the IT Awards.

Anytime you purchase items from Amazon starting from the Amazon search box in the IT Award's Shop - the IT Awards will earn a commission.

That's right, you still have access to all the great items Amazon offers, there is no additional cost to you and you are helping us earn a nice little chunk of change.

Just note that you must complete the purchase during the same visit you start from our search box. Otherwise, we won't get the commission, even if you fill your cart and come back later.

So help us out - there are no additional costs to you - just start at the IT Awards Shop.

Join the community!
Forgot your password?